/ Created by Gottfried Schüll

Dr. Tim Crummenerl appointed as judge at the German Federal Supreme Court

Düsseldorf Regional Court again sends one of its presiding judges to Karlsruhe

Düsseldorf, 08.07.2020 – At its session on 2 July, the Bundesrichterwahlausschuss (Federal Judge Election Committee) elected Dr. Tim Crummenerl as the new judge at the Federal Supreme Court of Germany. With his appointment, the Düsseldorf Regional Court is once again sending a patent law specialist to the highest German civil and criminal court.

In 1999, Dr. Crummenerl became a judge at the Düsseldorf District Court. He was seconded from the patent chamber at the Düsseldorf District Court to the patent senate at the Federal Supreme Court from 2005 to 2008. Since 2009 he has been presiding judge of a patent litigation chamber at the Düsseldorf District Court. Dr. Klaus Grabinski was the last of the Düsseldorf District Court judges to be appointed Federal Judge in the Patent Senate of the Supreme Court in 2009, where he now serves as Deputy Chairman.

"The selection of the Bundesrichterwahlausschuss underlines once again the important role that Düsseldorf plays as a patent law location in Germany. We are pleased that with Dr. Tim Crummenerl, another highly esteemed judge is now represented in Karlsruhe and we wish him all the best for his new task", says Gottfried Schüll, patent attorney and partner at Cohausz & Florack. The Düsseldorf District Court is the largest venue for patent infringement litigation in Germany. More than half of all patent infringement proceedings are initiated there. In 2019, the three court chambers in Düsseldorf specializing in patent law decided on more than 400 disputes. Düsseldorf has also been one of the leading global locations in this respect for decades.

A total of five women and five men were elected as new judges for the Federal Supreme Court:

Dr. Enno Bommel

Dr. Tim Crummenerl

Julia Ettl

Dr. Claudia Fischer

Dr. Sven Harms

Dr. Helmut Kreicker

Dr. Asmus Maatsch

Dr. Dorrit Selbmann

Dr. Angelika Walther

Annette Wille.


Picture Credits: Klaus Eppele